Why I no longer care about saving TVNZ 7

I used to support TVNZ 7. I used to think it was a brilliant channel. Content on commercial stations is rubbish, something Peter Dunne was right on. Public broadcasting is great, but we’re not getting the value from TVNZ 7 that we could be getting. And quite frankly, the majority of content on TVNZ 7 now is not relevant to most people.

While I don’t agree with the editorial in The Press from yesterday, which said TVNZ 7 won’t be missed. It will be. TVNZ 7 has great benefits. I do like being able to flick on TVNZ 7 and see the news. That’s something I certainly will miss.

Having said that, what I would love to see is a complete reshuffle of TVNZ. Right now, TVNZ has five channels, One, 2, U, TVNZ 7 and TVNZ Heartland. I am entirely opposed to TVNZ Heartland – our public broadcaster shouldn’t have a purely pay TV channel. But I don’t really like the content on TVNZ channels at all. Assuming TVNZ doesn’t want to pay for new frequencies (oh, I could have so much more fun with this if they did….), I would like to see:

  • TVNZ One (general programming, 40+ demographics, similar to TV One now)
  • TVNZ Two (entertainment based programming, children’s programming during the day, 16-35 demographics after this)
  • TVNZ News (24/7 news programming, NZ equivalent of BBC News)
  • TVNZ Sport (similar to the idea that Network Ten in Australia had with One HD)

Given TVNZ Sport is highly unlikely to happen, I’d replace that with TVNZ Heartland, a channel for purely NZ content that’s free-to-air, rather than on a pay TV channel.

So, take TVNZ 7. Sure, the lack of news information isn’t the best, but I’ve got the internet that can give me what I need in that aspect. TV is becoming more and more irrelevant, and they’re not helping themselves.

 

About Daniel Farrell

Check out my website for details about me!

Posted on May 8, 2012, in New Zealand Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

