Maori Party = Maori Parliament? Oh dear……

Seems the Maori Party President is a bit confused by what a Parliament is. In a press release, he has said that Hone Harawira’s desire for a Maori Parliament is “ironic” because there already is one – the Maori Party.

I will never understand how this makes sense. According to the New Zealand Oxford Dictionary, a parliament is:

the legislature of a country or state having the British system of government

The Maori Party is not the legislature of a country or state. To say it is would be to suggest we have had a revolution and the Maori Party have taken supreme control over the country. Unless I am greatly mistaken, this has not happened. It is somewhat disturbing that the president of a party within Government does not understand a basic term such as “parliament”.

Some might expect me to criticise Hone Harawira for suggesting a Maori Parliament. That’s not going to happen. As much as I would be opposed to the idea, legal theory states it’s probably a good idea. Maybe not a Maori Parliament, but a lower house all the same. I am supportive of the idea of a lower house. A number of legal theorists have said that for a government to be legitimate, it must incorporate both an upper and a lower house. As I say, the idea of a Maori exclusive Parliament, I would not be supportive of. However, I can see where he’s coming from, and I do agree with the general idea.

You can close your mouths and stop looking shocked now. I am able to agree with anyone, given they are making sense.

About Daniel Farrell

Check out my website for details about me!

Posted on June 20, 2011, in New Zealand Politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

